Icc Cricket World Cup 2011

in World-cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the biggest and a major global sporting event organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It is the premier international championship of men's one day international cricket held every four years. There are about 9 World Cup matches that have been played till now.

The First tournament was held in England in the year 1975 and the first three events were known as the Prudential Cup and the England hosted the tournament continuously about three times. The victor of the first World Cup was the West Indies by defeating Australia. Later, in 1979 ICC Trophy was introduced along with the non-test playing teams Sri Lanka and Canada. Once again, the West Indies won the second consecutive tournament by defeating the hosts, England.

The Third World Cup match was held in 1983, and the victors of the first two consecutive World Cup victors were defeated by India by 43 runs. Pakistan and India hosted the Fourth World cup in 1987, Australia won the match by defeating England with the closest margin so far. In 1992, the Fifth match was held in Australia and New Zealand. England was defeated by Australia.

The Sixth match was hosted by India and Sri Lanka in the year 1996 and Australia was the victors of this world cup by defeating West Indies. South Africa, Kenya and Zimbabwe hosted the Eighth World Cup match in 2003. Australia won the match by defeating India by 125 runs. Also the number of teams participating in the event increased to fourteen. The last match was played in the year 2007, hosted by West Indies. This was a fourth victory for Australia in a consecutive manner by defeating Sri Lanka.

The 2011 World Cup match would be the tenth competition hosted by three South Asian Test cricket playing countries India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Pakistan was also included in the co-hosting countries. Due to the Lahore attack, ICC forced Pakistan to strip its hosting rights. Therefore eight matches are shifted to India, four matches to Sri Lanka and two matches to Bangladesh.

The number of matches and the teams has gradually increased than comparing the previous World Cup tournaments. Cricket has become more popular and the exciting entertainment among the people of every age. Also it has grown as the media event with each tournament.
Author Box
sankari has 1 articles online

2011 World Cup

Add New Comment

Icc Cricket World Cup 2011

Log in or Create Account to post a comment.
Security Code: Captcha Image Change Image
This article was published on 2011/01/24